Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-29-2017, 07:19 AM   #1

Jay Feather 7 Model 19XUD

Hello all! I'm VERY new to this, but I am leaning towards a Jay Feather 7 hybrid model 19XUD. I have a Toyota 4Runner with a towing capacity of 5,000 lbs. Wondering if anyone has this camper and what they think? Any insight/comments welcome!
Newbiewithoutaclue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 07:34 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

I have a 4Runner, towing capacity 5,000 lbs. We took a Jay Feather 165 Sport (16.5') to CA from Ohio. The 4Runner had plenty of power, but it was white knuckle all the way. Trucks would push me about 1 1/2 feet both ways when passing. Had to avoid winds best we could leaving at 6:00am and getting to where we were going by noon. Not a fun towing experience. We packed out at only 3,000 lbs on the TT.
Now have a 24RBS with Toyota Tundra V8, much more pleasant.

Doug

Cape Coral, Florida
2021 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2022 Jayco 240RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 07:35 AM   #3

I was looking at that exact same unit earlier this spring. I did not purchase that unit but here are the pros & cons:

JayFeather 7 is only 7' wide so it fits better alongside my house - pro
7' wide means that front and rear beds are shorter (problem for tall people) -con

Unit is also smaller (shorter and narrower) than other units so good to tow (less wind resistance and easier to see around with tow mirrors) - pro
Unit is smaller inside too - narrower and ceiling height could be a problem - con

Unit is low weight for the amenities making it easier to tow for SUV - pro

Jayco 2 year warranty - pro