Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-28-2017, 01:55 AM   #1

Jayco Newbie-First RV!

Hello there. I just bought my family our first RV! We got a 2017 Jayco Jay Feather X19H! No more tent hunting/camping. We are very excited to get the family out and camping. I am a newbie to towing a trailer and owning an RV. Any advise you can give me would be a huge help! Lots to learn and I know nothing. Very overwhelming. We're going out on our first 2 day camp trip tomorrow to get use to the trailer before our big memorial day trip! Any advise would be great. Thanks all!

KG-Washington
--2017 Jay Feather X19H
2015 1500 Silverado (V6 4.3)
Kygreen10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 04:19 AM   #2

Congrats on the camper and welcome to the forum. Lots of good info here. Just make sure you have what you need to hookup water, sewer and electric. Food, drinks and some chairs. A lot things you can pack but what all you'll want is up to you. And if you forget something it's not the end of the world. Most importantly have fun!
SouthCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 06:53 AM   #3

If you are at a campsite with full hookups DO NOT leave the black water tank open. It will allow the liquids to drain away with the solids staying in the tank eventually plugging the tank.
93/2020,157/2019219/2018 206/2017,215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 07:00 AM   #4

Congrats. Always nice to make a list and follow it on setup and take down. Stabilizing jacks are just for stabilizing. Level out camper before setting down jacks. I found the Andersen leveling wedge shortens down on the time it takes to level side to side. Also take it easy when towing, its not a race and take the turns wider and slower than normal. Have fun.
mod: Dimming awning
Dimming Floor light
Shocks
Custom bike/kayak rack