Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-08-2014, 06:23 AM   #1

What accessories needed with new TT?

So, right now we are getting pretty serious about the X23B. I found one that has the options I want except for the enclosed underbelly (can a dealer add this option?). The dealer would supply the usual things, propane tanks, hoses, and battery with box. I am new to this. So, my question for you experienced RVers is what should I get with the trailer at the time of purchase? I think I'm going to go with an Equilizer hitch, but I'm open to any and all suggestions on accessories that you think are needed.
One thing I was thinking of getting was an extra battery. I have heard it is better to have two 6v wired in series than it is to have two 12v in parallel. True? And, any particular brand? Also, I don't believe the X23B has a black tank spray down. Do I need One? What about blocks for the wheels?
12VOLTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 06:41 AM   #2

You don't really need to buy anything from the dealer as such at the time of purchase. All the goodies you need, leveling blocks, chocks, etc. can be purchased anytime and almost anywhere (on-line, Wal-Mart, Menards). Hopefully some of the members that have established lists will post them here but my list of must haves are:

Lego style leveling blocks
In-between the wheel chocks (mine are homemade)
Wedge-style chocks for the ground
A large block or plastic pedestal for the tongue jack to rest on
A sewer hose in a 5 gallon bucket
Patio Mat

This will get you set up on a site and be able to dump your waste. All the rest is icing on the cake.

You in Ohio? I knew a windmill man in Berlin Center, OH years ago.
Old 06-08-2014, 08:42 AM   #3

When we bought our trailer, the dealer gave us a $50 store credit to use on camping supplies. Maybe your dealer will do the same?