Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-24-2012, 09:20 PM   #1

newbie battery charge question

getting ready for first trip, battery level reads 1/3. 20 miles to our destination. will battery charge on the trip or can i charge it with trickle charger before we leave? sorry for what is probably a basic question but we are newbies.thanks for your help
bayleightucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 09:26 PM   #2

If you're boondocking, I would certainly want to charge the battery before you leave. If you're going to a campground where you will be plugged in, it really doesn't matter since you'll be charging your battery while plugged in.
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 11:13 PM   #3

Newbie here as well..

I'm pretty sure it will charge while plugged into your tow vehicle. Not sure how long it takes so you might want to consider home charging if planing on boon docking.

This is my plan with out new TT at this time till I get used to how long it takes the on-board charger to top it up once plugged in at a CC or if relying on the TV to charge.
dddire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 07:27 AM   #4

Yes, the battery will charge while connected to your tow vehicle BUT keep in mind a couple things when doing that. First, the battery is used for the emergency trailer brake disconnect. If your vehicle becomes disconnected the battery on the camper will power the brakes on the trailer. Next, most critical items on the trailer are run by 12V. If your battery is not charged, and you are connected to your tow vehicle, it is possible that the load through the charge line will blow the fuse in the tow vehicle (done that). And finally, most electrical items do not like to operate on low power conditions. Operating motors, electronics etc on low power can cause damage to the devices.