Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-24-2014, 03:11 PM   #1

Propane alarm

I keep my trailer in storage since I can't park it at my house for more than a day or so. I've never had any kind of RV before so I know quite little about them. I'm a diesel mechanic by trade though so I'm usually ok at figuring it out.

I've used this Jayflight G2 once since we bought it and it's been in storage for about six weeks. I went down today because thr dealer told me that it takes the refrigerator 2 days to cool down before we can load food in. I opened my propane tanks and turned my fridge on which is some sort of norcold. My battery says it has 2/3 charge. I sat there for a few minutes to see if it was working but I couldn't tell if it waa cooling or not. I figured I'd leave it running and come back in the morning. As I was getting ready to leave an alarm started going off. After a brief search I found it was the propane alarm under the dining table thing that lowers into a bed. I hooked the light cord up to the TV and it stopped. I turned the stove and oven on and they worked. I couldn't get any hot water to come from the sink but that may be because the tank is almost empty.

Tomorrow I'm going down to get it and I'll plug it into my house overnight before we leave friday morning. When we had it plugged in last time at the house and at the campsite it worked fine.

If it is the batteries going dead would a solar panel help? I suppose i could leave the TV hooked to it but that seems like it'd just run that battery down too. Besides it said I had 2/3 charge. How much does it need to run the fridge?

Sorry if I'm rambling on, I'm just out of ideas and wondering if anybody whose more experienced can help. Thanks in advance.
Diesel wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 03:42 PM   #2