Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2016, 02:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 147
AC on 110 plug

We have the coach parked behind our home on the driveway near the building (shop). It is generally plugged in a 110 receptacle to keep up the batteries.

We were in the coach yesterday, it was getting a little warm so I unplugged the 110, started the generator, and started the AC. We enjoyed the coach for about four hours. At 5PM, I thought I had turned off the AC, turned off the generator, re-plugged the 110, and we went into the house.

Moments ago, I went by the coach, and heard the AC start up and running with water dripping of the roof. I unlocked the coach, stepped inside, and sure 'nuff the AC was running (had been running since yesterday). The temp was at 72 degrees in the coach. The outside tempt was 78 degrees

No surprise right..???

Well the AC unit was running while plugged into a simple house-hold 110 receptacle at the shop. AND it did not trip anything.

I thought I read several posts around here about concerns of tripping switches if there was an attempt to use the AC while the coach was plugged to a simple 110 receptacle......


Wilson Boudreaux
From Cajun Country
Jayco 2016 Grey Hawk 29MV Champagne
Toad - '16 Subaru Forester (Pearl White - manual transmission)
Blue Ox (everything) for the TOAD
Boudreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 02:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
Nukeneck's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 167
I have mine plugged into an exterior 110 outlet on the side of my garage. I've run the AC several times off that outlet and it's never tripped the breaker

2015 Jayco White Hawk 28dsbh
2014 Ford F150 Lariat 4x4 w/Ecoboost
H/D tow package

2005 Forest River Rockwood 2601 (Sold)
2011 Ford Expedition XLT (Sold)
2008 Jeep Wrangler (Just for fun!)
Nukeneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 03:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
SMS1115's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fuquay-Varina
Posts: 400
It really depends on the total load on the circuit when the A/C is running. If it is a 20 amp circuit, and nothing else is on, all should be fine. If you try to run more than the A/C on the circuit, you will most likely trip something.
2008 Jay Flight G2 29BHS
2013 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT Z71 4x4
SMS1115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 03:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
Grumpy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,522
With the newer units you can usually "squeek by" running the a/c on a 15 amp circuit. With a 20amp it's never a problem if you don't run other things.
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 03:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,536
We ran the X23B A/C frequently when plugged into a 20Amp circuit at the house (our kitchen has some 20Amp outlets). I first tried a 15Amp which was more convenient but it could not support the A/C. We found that we could have A/C, fridge, lights and radio on at the same time without tripping the breaker when we used the 20A plug but could only manage the fridge, lights and radio on a 15Amp.

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.