Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2014, 12:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
MyBrokenJeep's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Corona/Riverside CA
Posts: 21
Air Conditioner

We have a 2010 Greyhawk 31FK... About 2 years ago, we had the air conditioner replaced under warranty. Since then, we haven't done any summer camping, so we haven't needed it. Well, this weekend, in preparing to go out in a couple weeks, I learned that the unit that was replaced 2 years ago is now not blowing cold. Compressor comes on.. all that stuff... So, up on the roof I go, pull the cover and I see that the dealer replaced the original unit with a Coleman. Was the original unit a Coleman? I also see that the "new" unit lines were leaking, thus the reason I have no cold air.

So, here are my questions...

What was the original unit?

Do you think I have a claim with the dealer? I literally have not run the air once since they replaced it.

If I have to replace the unit, should I go back with an OEM? Coleman? Another brand?

Or, can I replace it with a larger unit? If so, which one would you recommend?

When thinking about going with a potentially larger unit, my generator is the Onan 4000.

Any and all help is very much appreciated.


"An army of asses led by a lion is better than an army of lions led by an ass" George Washington
MyBrokenJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
What new unit lines are you referring to and how did you determine "they" were leaking? Photos would help. The entire refrigerant circuit is a sealed system.

2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 01:25 PM   #3
Site Team
norty1's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 9,427
Not to make you feel worse but I can't understand how you could go this long w/o checking it for operation.

I would start start with a call with the dealer who installed it.

Not sure about MH's but my Jayco 5er uses Coleman ac's.
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 02:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
Grumpy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,522
JAYCO has always used Coleman/Air-excel units. Starcraft use to use Dometic and now they also use Coleman/Air-excel.

PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2014, 03:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 123
I think the warranties than run on the units are 1 year unless extended. I don't know how long that dealer guarantees their repairs, it's worth asking.

I've replaced units before - at least the dometic kind. The hardest part is getting the unit up on top of the RV, everything else (assuming you're getting the same unit) is bolt-on. In the case of dometic, 3 parts need to line up:
1) The AC unit itself - ducted or unducted
2) The control box (under the AC unit)
3) The thermostat, which much work with the control box

I haven't dealt with the Coleman unit that's in our Jayco yet.
cb1000rider is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.