Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-20-2015, 12:14 PM   #1

Black Tank Flush

Hey guys newbie here! Bought my first MH a 2015 Redhawk 31xl. I am having an issue with the black tank flush, it has never worked since I picked it up. I hooked up the water and pressurized the system and nothing was happening. No leaks but also no water getting into the black tank. I took it into the dealer and they changed out the vacuum breaker and sent me home. In hind site I really should have had them run it for me while I was there (silly me). I get home and I try to test it myself and the issue is still the same. No leaks, no flush.

With the dealership being 1 1/2 - 2 hours away I would like to avoid going there. Here are some things that I noticed in testing the system:

1) the new vacuum breaker works, but seems to lessen the pressure of the source
2) water is making it into the inner piping just fine

Could the vacuum breaker lessen the pressure so much that it doesnt have enough pressure to run the flush? I am considering getting some pvc and just running without the breaker. Basically, has anyone had this experience?
rawnyron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 12:43 PM   #2

I assume you're using the separate black tank flush water inlet on the side of the coach? And I'm also assuming your black tank valve is open?

On the sidelines taking it all in.

Jopopsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 12:56 PM   #3

Yes separate inlet (not the fresh water inlet) and yes the black tank drain is open.
Old 08-24-2015, 07:36 PM   #4