Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-06-2015, 05:17 AM   #1

Complete Newbie

First let me say I am a new to the Class C stuff. Have never been in a RV let alone owned one. Got tired of sleeping in the tent. Trailer was out as I need to pull a boat. Since this was the first, did not want to spend a ton of money. Finally found a (do not laugh) 1987 Class C on a Chev 30 chassis that has the 350 motor. Bought from a older lady whose husband had passed several years ago. Motor has 35K and everything on the interior was like new. There has not been one modification done to any system. Have all the manuals and receipts since it was bought new. The only thing changed was they put in a new frig in 97.
She could not tell me how anything worked, so I think I will be here picking some brains before this is over. Got it home plugged in the electrical got all the lights to work and after doing some research, got the freeze/frig combo to fire up, so right now I am going to stay with the electrical system questions.
Put in a new RV Deep Cycle battery. So my first question is how long can I run stuff just on the battery alone? Also, lower on the dash, drivers side, there is a toggle switch that is some how connected into the charging system no idea what it does.
Does the unit know when I am using house current or battery? Looked for some type of transfer switch but no luck. So I could use info/hints in lay men terms.
One more thing, tire's. Tread is good but but the sidewall's show some serious weather cracking. Tire size is 8.00 x 16.5. So new tires were budgeted in when buying the Rv. After doing some googling, I found a ton of different opinions on what to do. some said dump the 16.5 and go to 16 inch rims others said look for a different size tire. Confusing, what is my best way to go?