Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2017, 04:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 13
Inverter always on?

Hi all. I'm new to this forum and have a new-to-me 2008 Melbourne that I'm trying to figure out.

I have installed an inverter in a TT before because we do a lot of dry camping and prefer to not use the generator when we have a choice. So I was excited that this motorhome came with one installed, even if it was only 400W.

Took me a while to figure out that it only powers the front TV outlet, with the ingition kill switch, of course.

What I can't figure out is what the inverter on/off switch in the "command center" does. It doesn't have any effect on the TV outlet at all. Off or On, the TV outlet always has power. The switch LED turns on and off. That's about it.

What am I missing? And will the inverter being on with no load be a power drain?

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
2008 Melbourne 29D
Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 04:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,037
Chances are someone previous to you has moved the power plug for the front TV and used an outlet that is not powered by the inverter, to defeat the ignition kill switch. Or, while the motorhome is connected to shore or generator power the inverter will pass thru power to the switched TV outlet, hence the Command Center switch will have no affect.

Let us be the first to welcome you to JOF.
__________________

abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 04:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 275
Welcome Aboard!

You said - "Took me a while to figure out that it only powers the front TV outlet, with the ingition kill switch, of course."

Does that mean it works when thew truck is running and/or going down the road?
__________________
Smooth Sailing,
Ric and Jan Golding
Southern Illinois
2016 Jayco Seneca 37FS
rgolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 04:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 5,455
Welcome to the forum.

I have no real information related to your questions. But, most devices, like an inverter, will have some 'standby' drain on the battery whenever switched on.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Steve (std Poodle) & Eydie (min Schnauzer)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights 2015, 90 nights 2016)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 04:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,986
The inverter "only" powers your TV with shore power disconnected. It has an internal transfer switch that automatically connects to shore power so you will see no difference when plugged into the pedestal with the inverter switch on or off.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 01:28 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 13
It looks like the stock outlet for the TV gets "killed" by the ignition as usual, but there is a 2nd outlet next to it that is always on, whether the RV is moving/running or not. I'm going to assume this was installed with the satellite system that was also aftermarket. Perhaps the inverter was altered then, too?

I have yet to take a closer look at the inverter, which I assume is under the bed. When I do I can check if it always has power. When dry camping, I hate losing precious amp hours for no reason.

I have yet to plug in at a campsite. Hadn't really messed around with with any of this at home while prepping for the trip. So far I have not been able to find any outlet that is affected by the inverter switch in any configuration.
__________________
2008 Melbourne 29D
Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 01:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,037
Our inverter powers one hard-wired outlet in the front of the RV (as factory configured) and both the TV and audio system are plugged in to it.
We found the inverter in our RV positioned just below the bedroom TV in a space along with the 12 volt converter.
We were able to connect a standard household power extension cord to an open plug on the inverter and connect the bedroom TV to it as well.
abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 02:04 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 13
I just took a quick look at the bedroom TV cabinet. Ours doesn't appear to have a space under the TV, but looks like there is one behind a panel behind the door that the TV is mounted to. I'll have a look there. I figured once I found it I could add additional stuff as you did with the extension cord. Previously we ran an LED TV, a laptop, external hard drive, and a couple phone/tablet chargers all at once, but that was with a 1000w inverter I rigged in our TT. We'll have to see what this 400w one will handle. Might change it out for a bigger one. Can't really try it out right now, though because the batteries that came with the motorhome are crap and we are in cold weather, and we could barely manage to run the furnace all night. Gotta get some new batteries, for sure.
__________________
2008 Melbourne 29D
Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 01:34 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 13
OK, so a little more info. Found the inverter under the bed. Nothing obvious there with regards to it always being on. Then I read the manual... Go figure. Apparently this inverter does not switch on or off. It's on or standby. On is always on. Standby mode is supposed to allow the remote switch to control it. My inverter was switch to ON. Great, that must be my problem... I wish. I turned it to standby, and walked over to the command center and turned the remote switch ON. Nothing. No power to the TV outlets, no LED illuminated on the switch.

So, I thought I knew why it wasn't working, had a way to resolve it (change inverter to standby), but no dice.

Turns out when the inverter is ON, it's using 1.25 amps. Standby is just 1 mA (just enough to power the switch, I guess). I think that means I'm using about 30 amp hours in a 24 hour period by not being able to turn the inverter ”off" (unless I go under the bed and under a panel to turn it off and on when needed). That's quite a bit, considering the existing battery capacity is only 160 AH. Also explains why they were draining completely, and probably why they are crap now, since they were repeatedly drained below 50℅.

I've contacted Xantrex to see how to further troubleshoot the standby/remote switch issue.
__________________
2008 Melbourne 29D
Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 02:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,986
Pull the remote switch and check the control wire plug on the rear.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.