Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-25-2016, 11:39 AM   #1

Not happy

Schwintek. The name means 'headache'. The first failure in our February 2015 new Seneca 37FS was in Washington after getting it in to travel and second this weekend while boondocking in Quartsite, AZ. I'm no engineer, but 2 geared motors the size of a Ballpark frank to move a 16 foot x 30 inch slideout seems optimistic. Not a year old and 3-1/2 weeks for an appointment with the selling dealer to look. This may be camel-back breaking.
RoWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 11:49 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoWest View Post
Schwintek.I'm no engineer, but 2 geared motors the size of a Ballpark frank to move a 16 foot x 30 inch slideout seems optimistic. .
Winnie uses it on a "Full wall" slide, so JAYCO is not alone.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 12:23 PM   #3
Lost in the Woods

Schwintek has apparently upgraded their stuff before 2015 to a heavier duty gearing and motors. No, this is very unfortunate to hear that they installed the Schwintek stuff. Check to see if they have a heavier duty upgrade. These full wall slide really need some heavy duty stuff to handle the weight and bulk.
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 12:27 PM   #4
Lost in the Woods

There are Schwintek slide classes for technicians, you might want to attend one. I would if I had a Schwintek slide.
Old 01-25-2016, 12:45 PM   #5

I too have a Schwintek slide, but the slide is only maybe a foot wider than the width of a queen bed. If it were any wider I wouldn't have bought the MH I did. The wall w/ the couch and dinette on it is a Power Gear.

On the sidelines taking it all in.

Jopopsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 09:34 AM   #6