Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2012, 11:31 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Operation of house power

I recently purchased a 2005 Graniteridge 3100SS. My prior class C was a 1993, 21 ft Itasca.

My question is regarding the power in the unit.
In the Itasca, the power cord plugged into a box inside the unit in order to provide power in the house. Then you disconnected this cord and plugged it into an outside source when at the campground with hookups.

I don't see a receptacle for the cord in the Jayco. The cord is just laying in the storage box, waiting to be plugged into an outside source, yet the house lights work when the battery switch is on.

Can someone explain the difference in the setup?

KathyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
Grumpy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 3,520
In your ITASCA you probably had to move the cord to go from generator to shore power. The GRANITE RIDGE has an automatic transfer switch which will take care of that. As to the inside lights, they are 12 volt so they will run off the house battery until you plug in then the converter takes over, as well as recharges the battery.

PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks. That makes perfect sense, now.
KathyB is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.