Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-15-2017, 02:52 PM   #1

Exclamation Please help us decide on our 1st Motorhome :)

Hello All,

This is my very first post! My name is Mike. I live here in California, and I'm married with 3 beautiful young girls. My wife and I have been talking about buying our very first RV for a little over 2 years now. I have a ton to write but will "TRY" to keep it detailed and short. Looking to everyone's expertise here to help us out and I'm TOTALY open to suggestions.

Recently our family conversations about getting a Class-C Motorhome is becoming a hot topic and we are getting ready to pull the trigger WE ARE REALLY NOT IN A HURRY, WANT TO TAKE TIME TO ASK QUESTIONS AND FIND A KILLER DEAL. There is just soooooooooo much information out there that honestly your head can spin. Over the last couple weeks we looked at Travel Trailers and then realized ya we can buy new but I need to buy a truck then we are talking easy $60k again. We originally set our limit to $45k, but realized if we want to be really happy for years to come and have the most convenience, we need to spend a little more so we now raised it to a FINAL MAX of $62k and we know that we'd rather buy from Private party not only to be able to negotiate a little better but also not pay sales tax like we would if we bought at a RV dealership. We are looking for a unit with auto-leveling jacks and the floor plan that has the couch across from the table to make conversation easier on trips.
So we have definitely decided on a Class C and we know for sure we want a Bunkhouse because that's where we will stick 2 of the 3 little ones if we ever bring my mom and dad or my inlaws on a camping trip and when we don't have anyone else, I'm sure they will sleep up top in the front.