Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-27-2016, 07:20 AM   #1

Tire inflation

2016 class C 31 DS

I have tried several methods to check and put air in my dual rear tires. nothing that I have found thus far will allow me to do this with out removing the cheap tin hubcap and the caps are starting to show some wear from multiple on and offs. I going on a trip and have decided to leave the caps off (I might put some paint of the rims where the cover's teeth dig in).
What are other people doing and if you found a product that works? I have exhausted CW's limited selection.
Hailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 08:13 AM   #2

Have you tried Valve extenders? I work in a shop that services Prevost Coach buses and we use them to air up the tires.

2022 33RBTS
Progressive Industries EMS - Hardwired
Equalizer 4 Point WDH
2021 Ford F350 7.3
Air Lift Rear Bags w/ On Board Compressor (Pending)
2016 28BHBE - (Traded and Missed already)
Marcm157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 10:23 AM   #3

Since I install a tire pressure monitoring system I only have to adj air pressure occasionally . It give me a lot of peace of mind . Surprisingly the temperature of the tire changes pressure quite a bit
Davidmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 10:41 AM   #4

Since I installed the Tire Minder TPMS I check my pressure daily on the monitor. Rarely have to pull the wheel covers. A TPMS also gives the added comfort of tire temperature and impending possible disaster.
brandysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2016, 01:38 PM   #5

I had the same problem until I took it down to Discount tire and had them install valve extenders on both of the rear tire sets.
They didn't even charge me. I just had to give them the extenders, which I picked up at Camping World.
Old 09-27-2016, 07:36 PM   #6