Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2016, 11:27 AM   #71
A10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lansing
Posts: 6
Nothing on the Control Panel that would indicate that I have an inverter.

Don't really want to run the generator.

Will probably go with the 12v DC to AC inverter and run an extension cord. I have been using a laptop for the grandkids, but the battery usually dies before the movie is over.
__________________

A10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 11:41 AM   #72
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,036
We still have the same portable inverter we purchased when we had our first RV that didn't have an inverter, and the gas generator was always giving us problems. Our current RV has the built in inverter so we don't really use it any longer.
One thing to keep in mind is that you would normally only want to use the inverter while the engine is running and the batteries have a source of charge. Even a small inverter drawing from the batteries with a minimal load could "eat" the batteries quickly.
__________________

abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 11:52 AM   #73
A10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lansing
Posts: 6
abarkl,


The only time I would use the inverter would be while driving. When "camping" (I call it "RVing" as we really aren't roughing it too much), we are always hooked up to a 30 amp power supply at the campground and run off AC. I'll plug the TV and DVD player back into their original outlets once we set up camp.
A10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 01:16 PM   #74
Senior Member
 
jgerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 219
Hi A10,

What model and year Jayco do you have?
jgerhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 08:52 AM   #75
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Thibodaux
Posts: 44
06
Karl06greyhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2016, 08:55 PM   #76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 1
Thanks Troy...what you described worked perfectly on my 2016 GreyHawk RV. Very much appreciated.
Breck
Jacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 01:18 PM   #77
Senior Member
 
Allen_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: INDIANAPOLIS
Posts: 122
This is odd since my 2016 Alante 31v does not have this "feature". My tv runs off the inverter while the motor is running! Any idea why there is a difference?
Allen_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 01:24 PM   #78
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allen_C View Post
This is odd since my 2016 Alante 31v does not have this "feature". My tv runs off the inverter while the motor is running! Any idea why there is a difference?
Someone has already made the "bypass"?
abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 01:25 PM   #79
Senior Member
 
Allen_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: INDIANAPOLIS
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by abarkl View Post
Someone has already made the "bypass"?
Nope, it is new!
Allen_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 01:41 PM   #80
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 4,528
Probably depends on location of the TV.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.