Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-09-2015, 04:56 PM   #1

2009 Eagle 351 RLSA--electrical issue

I'm a novice so need some advise on what to check. It seems not all of my camper is running off the 50 amp hookup. Only my TV and stereo. Everything else seems to be running off my batteries. After a few days they are dead and that annoying alarm goes off. I can tell you I just bought these batteries and I did however hook them up backwards for a short time. Did I blow a fuse some place other that in the fuse box because I pulled all those and they are fine. Is there a reset someplace to check? Or do I need a technician to come check my camper? Any feed back is appreciated
bevisdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 05:25 PM   #2

A couple questions,

Are you plugged in to a 50 amp service? Or are you using a cheater plug at home from a typical wall outlet?

Next, have you checked you circuit breakers both I side the camper and for the service (home breaker panel or service post). If the proper breakers are used (dual pole) if one half trips the entire breaker should trip. But if someone installed two single pole breakers then you could loose just one power leg.

If you have a volt meter, I would check the power at the shore power outlet, after verifying all the breakers are turned on.

Do you have to ac units? If so do they both work at the same time? If you have two ac units they should be wired so one is connected to each power leg. If only one will work then I would suspect a bad power leg some where.

There is a fuse, to protecting the power system, and it will blow if you reverse hook up the leads. I believe it is at the fuse panel, but I have never blown one yet, so hopefully someone will chime in and tell you more about it.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)