Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-07-2013, 02:06 AM   #1

2014 Jayco Eagle Touring Edition & 2008 Toyota Tundra (5.7L V8)

Hi guys,
Newbie here. I am in the process of upgrading from a Travel Trailer to a 2014 Eagle 28.5BHDS. My TV is a 2008 Toyota Tundra Double Cab with 5.7L V8 Engine.

I created this thread with an effort to solicit real life input on how the Tundra would handle the Eagle 28.5BHDS 5th Wheel. Dry weight on the Eagle is approximately 8,300Lbs. Pay/ Hitch load weight is 1,622.

Toyota Tundra’s Max Towing capacity is 10,500 lbs. With a pay load of 1,500lbs.

The Tundra is a ½ ton truck but it can handle quite a bit more than what it is rated for. I use it daily as a work truck and I have to say it is on par with a few ¾ ton trucks. Plus I intend to invest in some helper springs (TIMBREN Suspension Enhancement System) to elevate rear sagging.

That said, I am very well aware that I am pushing the limits here but I would like to hear SPECIFICALLY from a member who currently has a similar/ close set up or had such a set up in the past. How is the overall towing experience? How does the Tundra handle on steep grades? etc etc.

Thanks in advance.
PKEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 08:36 AM   #2

Quote:
I am pushing the limits here
Real life; The delivery weight of the 5th wheel will probably be closer to 85 to 8600lbs. Pin weight will probably be closer to 1800lbs. You will end up being easily 500 to 700 lbs over payload capacity once loaded. You will probably exceed your GCVWR and rear axle weight rating. Rear suspension enhancements don't increase capacities. Vehicle manufacturers put those weight stickers on their vehicles for a reason. JMO
TCNashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 09:14 AM   #3