Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-21-2017, 06:46 AM   #1

26.5BHS TV and Hitch Help

Hello!

Newbie here to the fifth wheel world. For various reasons I am working backwards and matching my tow vehicle to what unit we decide to go with.

I asked for advice from the dealer and he is actually pushing me to a half ton. I just want relatively safe (kids) and headache free and am not brand loyal.

Does anyone have a preferred TV/hitch setup for a 26.5BHS?
dksmith17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 07:03 AM   #2

For reference here are the specs

Unloaded Vehicle Weight (lbs) 7185
Dry Hitch Weight (lbs) 1370
Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (lbs) 9950
Cargo Carrying Capacity (lbs) 2765
Old 06-21-2017, 07:27 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

GVWR for TT looks like 10,000lbs rounded.
Correction, didn't see FW. Fiver will have pin weight 15-20%
Pin weight could be up to 1,500 - 2,000 lbs

OMHO, a 1/2 ton won't be enough truck.

I have a 1/2 ton Tundra, max tow, max payload. My 24' TT GVWR = 7500. I wouldn't want to tow anything much bigger. I am probably only at 80% of my specs.

I would think you need to be 3/4 ton minimum.

Start with your estimated tongue weight, add gear and passenger weight. That will give you a better idea of where you need to start with truck specs. I like to stay within 80% of specs for comfortable towing, especially if going any distance.

Doug

Cape Coral, Florida
2021 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2022 Jayco 240RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 07:30 AM   #4

I'm from the "you can't have too much truck" school of RVing, so I would highly recommend a 3/4 ton truck of whatever brand strikes your fancy.
2011 Chevy 2500HD Duramax Crew Cab 4WD
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 08:18 AM   #5
Lost in the Woods