Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-05-2015, 09:30 AM   #1

Considering a smaller Jayco for snowbirding....

Hi all,

New to this forum and wanted some input from LT 27.5 RLTS and /or LT 28.5 RSTS owners.

I have been fulltiming for about 2 years in a 19' truck camper. Its a high end model, well made, well insulated with very large tanks and a full wall slide. My significant other will be retire soon so we are considering selling the camper and purchasing a smaller 5th wheel for snowbirding in Florida (where I'm at right now, by the way).

I've done my homework using 2 different consumer guides as I did with the truck camper and now I'm beginning my research on forums.

I've come down to 3 different brands. While the company that made my truck camper does make 5th wheels, I'm not sure we would need such a high end unit for snowbirding. If we were fulltiming it might be a different story.

I like the layout of these 2 Jayco models but have some concern about the quality for long stays of 2-3 months. Any owners out there who are using one of these units for this purpose? What has been your experience? How are your units holding up to the wear and tear of daily living for such long stays?

Your experience, comments and suggestions are most welcome!

Sailor Dave
Sailor Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 09:58 AM   #2