Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-29-2016, 04:05 PM   #1

Eagle HT towing testimonial with HT truck

Hello,
We currently have a 267BH and may be upgrading to something slightly larger with a third (minimum) bunk. We have an F-150 eco 3.55 LB 4x4 and I am interested in the HT fifth wheels. Just looking for some testimonials from people with HT trucks that tow these trailers....I know it's best to have a 3/4 ton at least so please don't reply saying that. POINT TAKEN. I have lots of experience towing but just looking for some other point of views...
thanks!
therealbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 04:16 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum.

This is a hot topic. I hope you get the information you seek.
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 04:37 PM   #3

Welcome to the forum! As mentioned by oldmanAZ this has certainly been a hot topic here. If you do a search, I'm sure you'll find some of the previous threads on the subject. We're hoping to upgrade to a FW in the next couple of years. I would love to be able to do it with a 1/2 ton like the Tundra or Ford, but we'll probably go with a 3/4 ton gasser that we can pick up for about the same cost and not be as restricted on FW choices.
2015 Jayco Jay Flight 23MB Elite
Previous RV's, 1988 33-foot Barth Class A and 1994 Flagstaff Pop-Up
Desert RVers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 05:33 PM   #4

Not to keep beating a dead horse here about the 3/4 ton, but having more power and torque is much better than not enough. Some of the factors you should consider, when considering a tow vehicle:

1. The weight provided by the RV manufacturer is the "dry" weight. After cargo, hitch weight, water, holding tanks and mods, your overall weight can increase significantly.