Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2012, 09:03 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 16
Question Electrical hook up at home

Our new 5th. wheel is going to have to stay in our driveway while we outfit it.

I would like to hook up to and outside 110v outlet. My question is will I have to go to a 30amp breaker on this outlet? The RV is on a 30amp system, and the A/C is 15,000 btu. The Lance camper used to work OK on the 110v outlet, but the A/C was a lower BTU.

Thanks as always,

Uncle Joe

Joe Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:25 AM   #2
Senior Member
tnchuck100's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,132
It MIGHT work OK. Go ahead and hook it up and try it. If the voltage in the RV is below 110V don't operate the A/C. Otherwise as long as the feeding the outlet you are plugged into doesn't trip you should be good to go. Though you need to understand you are right at the limit for doing this. If you don't use the A/C there should be no problem at all.

I would recommend installing a 30 amp receptacle on its own dedicated circuit conveniently located to the RV. Use 10/3 gauge wire.

Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:53 AM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 16

Joe Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Just north of Syracuse, NY
Posts: 25
Hooking up to electricity in the driveway

30 amp, you should be okay. I can run everything but the compressor for the a/c on my 20 amp service. We just refrain from running the a/c, but if it's really hot out, we'll flip the fan on.

I would second tnchuck100's recommendation of installing a dedicated 30amp line for the RV. I've been meaning to do that.
dlongley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
RoyBraddy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,124
Give it a try... You will be better off using a 10-gauge (10-3) heavy duty extension cord - short as possible... Also DO NOT USE the small black round type RV30A-15A adapter. Use the RV30A-15A 18-inch long "DOGBONE" type adapter (Walmart in RV section) Anything that gets warm is losing power for you..

I have no problem whatsoever running my 13,500 AC unit which draws 13.6AMPS in low and 14.3AMPS in high. Of course since this is a 20AMP service then if I am using the air conditioner I cant add anything else that is a high amps device like the Microwave etc... It will trip my 20AMp house breaker.

None of my connections gets warm to touch.
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 05:35 PM   #6
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 16
Thanks again for all the good info!

Happy Fourth to y'all from Texas!

Uncle Joe
Joe Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 06:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
Quahog's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,529
Where in Texas, Joe?
Mike, Sue, Sissy and Little Man

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 07:36 AM   #8
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Most household outlets are 15A and are wired with 14ga wire. Do not put a 30A breaker on that circuit unless you wish to start a fire. You need 20A minimum and it needs to gbe wired with 12ga wire. #0A/10ga would be better and would allow you to rum the AC and something else.
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 07:52 AM   #9
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 16
Mike, Sue, and Buddy, Our main home is in Elgin, Tx, Bob good point, we don't want any fires.

Thanks All,

Uncle Joe
Joe Garland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 09:11 AM   #10
Senior Member
Larry G.'s Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Reno (home base), Oregon coast, Eloy, AZ
Posts: 840
We just plug in at home, usually overnight, to get the refer cold and maybe use some lights if needed while putting fresh clothes and condiments in.

When ready to go we load the refer and off we go.

No need for us to run the AC's.


2012 Pinnacle 36KPTS - Kitchen Pantry Triple Slide
Mor/Ryde suspension and pin box, Dual pane windows, Auto Leveling System, 2 A/C's and more...
View photos

Our Trip Journal
Larry G. is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.