Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2011, 08:15 PM   #1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 66
Electrical Panel in 2012 Superlite 305RLS

I've been pestering Jayco with questions ever since I was considering purchasing one and lately more questions since I've ordered one. I don't want to wear out my welcome with them so I'm looking to the forum for information.

My question, I'm planning some upgrades when I get the unit and one question I have to people with a Superlite 305 RLS is if there are any empty spots to add circuit breakers in the fuse panel?


P.S. I hope Jayco is as responsive once I've get my unit as they have been so far ..... I'm impressed with their quick responses.

kiwaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:00 AM   #2
Senior Member
Terry's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
I don't know about that specific camper, but generally I see spare 12 volt fuses but rarely spare breakers. I doubt you will get a very specific answer from Jayco. They are a little shy when it comes to supporting mods - and I can understand that.

Curious what you are wanting to add? Maybe there are other ideas that can help.

2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 10:59 AM   #3
Senior Member
RoyBraddy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,124
One thing you might check with your panel. There is two sizes of circuit breakers - A full width size and a half width size. I wouldnt change the MAIN 30AMP Full Size Breaker but any of the other installed breakers that are full width sizes you should be able to remove that one and replace it wil two half-width size breakers in the same slot. They just snap into place once you remove the fron panel. Just be sure to get the same brand that is used. LOWES electrical department has all the major brands of circuit breakers in both full width and half width sizes.

My Power Distribution Panel (WD8900 series) has five full width circuit breaker slots in it...
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 11:00 AM   #4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 66
One of the mods I want to do is to add two electrical power bars. One near the stove / counter area (on the wall) and one on the side of the table. Want them on a separate circuits so we can use kettle at the same time as the toaster, or have a heater plugged in and make a cup of coffee, etc.

cheers and have a great day
kiwaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 06:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
RVhiker's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,100
Do you know if your new trailer has 30 amp or 50 amp service? Of course, those are the limits to the overall power available to use in your trailer.

With the 30 amp service in ours, I find that often have to shed load - like turn the refrigerator to propane or to turn the water heater to propane - to allow the use of another high consumption item.
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 08:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
rthibodaux's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Marrero,la
Posts: 141
I am on my 3 fw, and never seen one with space for another breaker, they just don't do it, .
Randy T
2011 Jayco Eagle 321RLTS FW
2012 Dodge 3500
US Govt survey shows three out of four people make up 75% of the total population
rthibodaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 08:05 AM   #7
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: AZ, USA, Earth
Posts: 1,088
Originally Posted by rthibodaux View Post
I am on my 3 fw, and never seen one with space for another breaker, they just don't do it, .
It's going to vary from RV to RV. The 2011 330RLTS (yes, I know it's a TT) has one empty space that can hold a double half pole breaker module and a single pole breaker that can be replaced with a double half pole breaker module. Some brands of panels can accept single half pole breakers but, since Jayco use the double half pole breaker modules, I suspect that is all that is available for them.

This is an example of a single pole breaker:

This is an example of a double half pole breaker module:

Both half poles can be either 15A or 20A only or a combination of a 15A and a 20A breaker. If your panel has an empty slot, you can add up to two circuits in that slot. If none of the slots are empty but you have at least one single pole breaker, by replacing the single pole breaker with a double half pole breaker module which will give you one additional circuit for each single pole you replace.

There is also a possibility your RV will have an unused circuit you could steal from. For example, if it is wired for two A/Cs and you have only one, you could disconnect the wiring for the unused A/C location from the breaker (I would just cap off the wire and tuck it to one side instead of cutting it off in case you ever decide to add the second A/C or sell the RV) and use that breaker for your new circuit.
Lady Fitzgerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 10:41 AM   #8
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 66
Everyone, thanks very much for all this information.

Looks like one way or another I will be able to add one or two additional circuits once the new fifth wheel arrives. Now I'll be able to make my coffee, burn my toast, and watch the morning news all at the same time.

cheers and have a great day.
kiwaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 01:56 PM   #9
Site Team
Denise's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 9,987
Definitely let us know how it goes with your new 5'er. When do you take delivery? Where do plan to go for the maiden voyage?
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt

CLICK HERE to save 30% $$ or more off your next Jayco RV
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 09:55 PM   #10
Senior Member
jamoke's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 269
Thumbs up

This might help.

There is no room to add another breaker in my 2011 30.5 RLS.
Here are a few photos of the stock arrangement

and here is a link for the Progressive Dynamics PD4045 Power Center.

Link to PD4045

2010 Dodge Ram 2500 Big Horn 4x4
2011 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5RLS
jamoke is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.