Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2016, 05:34 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mills River
Posts: 179
First time camping with cable hookup -issues

We are camped at Topsail Hill State Park. 1st time in a park with cable.
I hooked up the cable to the cable input. I only get signal on the main living room TV. Nothing on the other hookups.
We have camped with antenna only, and get signal on every TV.
I tried the SAT and AUX inputs in the connection center but still no signal to any TV but the main "living room".
I brought one of the other TVs into the living room and hooked it up. Works fine.
Any ideas where to check?
__________________

rsday75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 05:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 4,154
Do you have the ant amp off? It should affect both TV's but who knows. Usually the bedroom TV comes off the back of the amplifier. Those wires may be reversed.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 05:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
JohnWedell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Moriches
Posts: 248
they may not have hooked the cable to TV2 behind the plate where the power button is.

My problem is I have antenna to the living room and bedroom tV's but not to the outside tv jack.
__________________
2015 RAM 3500 SRW, 4X4, 3.73, 6.4 Hemi
2016 Eagle 338rets, Maxxis Tire Upgrade, Slide Toppers, Backup Camera, 2 - 15K AC units
Blue Ox Sway Pro Hitch, 2000 lb. Bars, Tire Minder (also on both spares)
JohnWedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 06:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mills River
Posts: 179
Antenna amp is off.
I'll pull the plate with the amp and see what I can see.
Such a pain to get to as it is behind the main tv. I may have to remove the main tv from the mount. Sigh.
rsday75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 06:50 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Westhampton
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsday75 View Post
Antenna amp is off.
I'll pull the plate with the amp and see what I can see.
Such a pain to get to as it is behind the main tv. I may have to remove the main tv from the mount. Sigh.
I have a 16 325 and the splitter in the basement was wired incorrect and had to ring out the locations to get signal and no static at all other tvs, other than living room.
KH325BHQS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 07:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mills River
Posts: 179
Connections seem right behind the amp.
I will remove panels in the basement and see what I find there tomorrow, I guess.
Kids are driving me crazy.
rsday75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 08:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 775
If you get OTA signal on the second tv then your likely wired correctly. The amp has to be off. Did you run the scan for channels on the second tv?

I found this thread which has some helpful information.

https://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/f...print/true.cfm

Since we have three televisions in our trailer I suspect that there is a splitter somewhere off the bedroom drop for the master and bunk room. I've tried mine with OTA and it works on all three tv's. But I havent tried bringing a cable signal inside yet.
__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 09:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mills River
Posts: 179
Yeah, OTA is good to every TV.
Scan ran on other TVs. Nothing found.
Tomorrow will bring a search in the basement for a splitter.
rsday75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 10:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 775
I believe you and I have the same rig (355). But regardless something does not make sense. The signal in your bedroom for OTA comes in over the same piece of coax that your Cable comes in on. The other drop in the master bedroom is for Sattelite.

There should be a coax going from the OTA antenna to the amp, another run from the Cable input on the docking station to the middle position on the amp and then the third cable on the back of the amp going to the bedroom. It's on this third cable that I suspect there is a splitter going to the master and bunk rooms. But regardless that is the same coax that carries the OTA signal. I just don't have a way to verify or test for you as I don't have a cable tv source. You can use a paperclip to jumber the center cable to ground on one end of the cable and a continuity tester just to test cables but since you OTA is working I beleive your wired correctly.

Unless I'm totally off base about how the OTA antenna is wired.

Either way let me know what you find out as I am sure this will come up for me at some point.


Looking at my coach again, my bunkhouse only has one output on the panel in there (since OTA works off that drop it is Sattelite that is missing on that panel) My master bedroom has both a sattelite and OTA drop.
__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 05:38 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 270
I'm sure this doesn't help, but my trailer is wired the same way. OTA works on both TVs, cable only on the main TV. I haven't had a chance to pull things apart yet to see what is wired incorrectly.
__________________

__________________
2005 Ford Excursion 6.8L, 3.73
2016 Eagle 324BHTS, P3, PP 3P

jasoncw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.