Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2016, 10:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Allegan
Posts: 24
Furnace problem

We are using our furnace for the first time and it will only run for about a minute. I will move the selector from heat to off and then back to heat and the process just repeats itself, never bringing it up to the temp I set the thermostat at. It works fine in cool mode. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
2015 Pinnacle 38FLSA
tadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 10:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 774
So during that minute when it's running, it is blowing out hot air right? Maybe you have an issue in the propane supply side that's keeping the furnace from getting the fuel it needs. Something could be clogged up, blocked, partially closed. I know the furnace sucks a ton of propane so I'd troubleshoot that side of the system first. Brand new camper?
__________________

__________________
2016 27BHS Elite
2012 F-150 EcoBoost / Max Tow
bansai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 11:08 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
tularockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chandler
Posts: 316
So, to troubleshoot and make sure that your furnace has propane running, you can turn on your stove in the rig and let it flame up for a few seconds, then shut it off. This should help clear out any air pockets in the line. The blower will come on when you turn to heat, but if your furnace doesn't have propane to light up/burn, then you won't have heat.

I'm assuming, also, that you have adequate amount of propane in your tanks and the valves are fully opened? Once you have ensured you have gas and the furnace still doesn't light, then you can have your furnace looked at by the dealer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadam View Post
We are using our furnace for the first time and it will only run for about a minute. I will move the selector from heat to off and then back to heat and the process just repeats itself, never bringing it up to the temp I set the thermostat at. It works fine in cool mode. Any suggestions?
__________________
U.S. Air Force (1979 to 1994)
2016 Jayco 29.5BHDS
2015 Ram 2500 (w/Cummins Diesel)
Chandler, Arizona
tularockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 11:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,562
X2 on no propane getting to the burner is most likely.


The fan comes on first, then the burner is lit.


Modern units have a 'sail switch' than detects actual air flow. So, you'll want to check that there are no blocked air intakes or outlets.


If you can open things up and find the sail switch, pull out your DVM and check continuity. Move the sail manually as well as cycle power and see if the fan can move the sail.
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2016, 11:17 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Allegan
Posts: 24
We used the stove last night with no issues. Both of the tanks are full. I switched the regulator from one tank to the other with no difference. I guess we will take it to a Jayco dealer to get it fixed since it's under full warranty.
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 38FLSA
tadam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.