Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-16-2010, 08:33 AM   #1

Question Generator Choices

Hello all!

We'll be ordering our 2011 365BHS in the next two weeks and had a question for anyone familiar with the generator compartment size on the 365BHS. I've been told it's roughly 20"h x 48"w x 24"deep and that the factory installed generator is an Onan 5500w.

I'm not a generator expert but was looking at the Hondas and they have a 6,500w that's very nice but I'm not sure if the measurements would fit.

What has everyone else used? (Generator wise) We'll be doing a fair amount of time boondocking and need as much gen power as we can get until we explore any solar options in the distant future.

I appreciate any advice in advance!
Penguelephants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 09:05 AM   #2

Welcome to the Jayco Owners Forum Penguelephants! Where will you do most of your boondocking? We have a lot of members here who frequent state parks etc. We also ordered our tt and got it just the way we wanted
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:09 AM   #3

Hello!

We wont always know where we'll be boondocking and wont always be in a cool climate. I will be doing contract work while fulltiming and we wont be able to choose the climate we're sent to nor if we'll be at a dedicated site or boondocking. Also have a DW and 8 year old with me so we'll often be out for an unknown amount of time and would like to run at least the 15,000 btu AC if needed (will have the additional 13,5 as well) plus any amenities they need to make them comfortable while I'm at work. So our usage is really an unknown but I'm guessing it will be on the high side as we wont always have the luxury of being at a dedicated site with power and water. We'll also need to do the occasional laundry in the combo unit when possible.