Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2016, 08:51 AM   #1
tld
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Manhattan ks
Posts: 50
Generator for running Air Conditioner Question

Here's my problem. To power my 15k BTU Coleman A/C, I want to buy an inverter generator (because they are quieter than the others) and I don't want to buy two smaller wattage ones that can be hooked up in parallel (like the 2000 watt Hondas can be). So, I'm looking closely at the Champion 3100. Although several have said that they run their 15K A/C with this generator, Coleman says that the start-up wattage requirement can be as high as 3900 watts. So, here's my electrical question. I can run my A/C with no problem on a 30 amp electrical plug at the RV parks that I've stayed in. Since the Champion generator has the 30 amp RV plug with a 30 amp breaker, it seems to me that if I don't throw a 30 amp breaker at an RV park when my A/C kicks on, then the Champion 3100 generator should handle the particular start-up wattage or amp requirements of my A/C. I realize that if my A/C required a full 3900 watts at start-up, then it would draw about 32 amps ( 3900 watts / 120 volts = 32.5 amps) and would throw a 30 amp breaker. But since I have no problem when plugged in to a 30 amp plug at a park, then it seems that I should have no problem with the 3100 Champion generator. What am I missing or looking at incorrectly? This is kind of a big deal since once you put gas and oil into the generator you can't return them.
__________________

tld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,696
I've often wondered if those who use generators consider installing a "hard start capacitor" in their AC unit. It's definitely something I will consider before I try to run my AC off a generator.

Robot Check

Here's an example. I don't know which model you would specifically need.

I wonder what the boondocking crowd has to say?
__________________

__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,887
I can run mine on the the Yamaha in my sig below without issues. It has a boost which might be the difference.

You do need to watch your other draws though.
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 11:26 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 5
The Champion 3100 inverter generator starts and runs my Coleman 15K BTU air conditioner without issue.
RiverRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 11:54 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Edd505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elephant Butte, NM
Posts: 1,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper_bob View Post
I've often wondered if those who use generators consider installing a "hard start capacitor" in their AC unit. It's definitely something I will consider before I try to run my AC off a generator.

Robot Check

Here's an example. I don't know which model you would specifically need.

I wonder what the boondocking crowd has to say?
Not being and electrician how would you wire one? I know my hot tub has one on each motor.
__________________
2000 F250SD SRW 7.3 Long Bed Extended Cab Air Bags
2014 Eagle 30.5BHLT
2007 Layton 245LF (sold)
196? Shasta 16ft

Learn from others mistakes, you'll never live long enough to make them all yourself.
Eleanor Roosevelt
Edd505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 12:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 712
I can run a 13.5 K AC as well as our 1100 watt microwave at the same time with our 3100 Champion. I can't believe that you could have an issue with starting a 15 k generator with that unit.
Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 01:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edd505 View Post
Not being and electrician how would you wire one? I know my hot tub has one on each motor.
Here's a video. There are other writeups around the interwebz about how to do it.

https://youtu.be/oHgXGlYNYkQ

It actually doesn't look too bad. I get a little antsy around capacitors though; I would hate to have one discharge into me. That would make for a bad day.
__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 02:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Edd505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elephant Butte, NM
Posts: 1,133
Thanks Bob, should have known to look to you tube. Looks really simple.
__________________
2000 F250SD SRW 7.3 Long Bed Extended Cab Air Bags
2014 Eagle 30.5BHLT
2007 Layton 245LF (sold)
196? Shasta 16ft

Learn from others mistakes, you'll never live long enough to make them all yourself.
Eleanor Roosevelt
Edd505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 05:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Milford
Posts: 426
I don't see where it would be a problem. I got a 15k on the New camper and am going to see if my Yamaha 2400 will run it. In doing some searching, I found quite a few that had done the same thing successfully.
__________________
2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5BHDS (ordered 12/30/15, delivered 3/8/16)
2015 F-350 crew cab, short bed, 6.7L PSD, Pullrite Superglide 3300 hitch
Cdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 07:12 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Voorheesville
Posts: 1
New generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by tld View Post
Here's my problem. To power my 15k BTU Coleman A/C, I want to buy an inverter generator (because they are quieter than the others) and I don't want to buy two smaller wattage ones that can be hooked up in parallel (like the 2000 watt Hondas can be). So, I'm looking closely at the Champion 3100. Although several have said that they run their 15K A/C with this generator, Coleman says that the start-up wattage requirement can be as high as 3900 watts. So, here's my electrical question. I can run my A/C with no problem on a 30 amp electrical plug at the RV parks that I've stayed in. Since the Champion generator has the 30 amp RV plug with a 30 amp breaker, it seems to me that if I don't throw a 30 amp breaker at an RV park when my A/C kicks on, then the Champion 3100 generator should handle the particular start-up wattage or amp requirements of my A/C. I realize that if my A/C required a full 3900 watts at start-up, then it would draw about 32 amps ( 3900 watts / 120 volts = 32.5 amps) and would throw a 30 amp breaker. But since I have no problem when plugged in to a 30 amp plug at a park, then it seems that I should have no problem with the 3100 Champion generator. What am I missing or looking at incorrectly? This is kind of a big deal since once you put gas and oil into the generator you can't return them.
Camping World just listed a new inverter generator champion 3500 with a remote
__________________

NY383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.