Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-23-2018, 12:22 PM   #2961

Location: Full timing in the 377, but Llano, Texas is now home
Mods to 377 RLBH?

As fulltimers, I’ll admit I’m a propane miser, and I’m just reluctant to use the shower at full throttle (app 1.1 gpm@50 psi) trying to conserve expenses. Not so with the DW, she enjoys the hi setting all the time. And with tankless, it heats only when used.

At this time of year for two people, it’s one 30 lb tank/mo, not using the furnace. I’m guessing that’s pretty good. During summer, one tank/2 mos. I’ve no experience with the 10 gal factory tank water heater propane expenses, as we changed it out in week one for the Truma. I’m sure most use the electric setting vs propane as electric is paid for in the RV site.

There are trade offs and variables (number of people in the camper vs how long each shower) when considering switching between tank and tankless water heaters when staying at RV parks-short term vs long term(electric rates apply). It at .17/kWh, long term for us while in AZ, bit us hard the first month in Jan. using only fireplace and one space heater to heat. So electric rates vs propane rates is the challenge at hand while living fulltime in an RV, all the while loving hot water.
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 Laramie MC 4x2 DRW 6.7CTD, B&W Companion Slider 3405, Edge Evolution CS (deleted DPF/DOC-special tune), TireMinder TM-77, Firestone air springs, CustomFlow tailgate, Tonnosport tonneau cover, Champion 3100w genset
2017 Jayco North Point 377RLBH w/Kodiak disc brakes/Titan actuator, Truma AquaGo Comfort, Sailun S637, home of Darin & Dana. Where the 377 has been towed since 5/27/16:
Dskyward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 12:45 PM   #2962

Darin