Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2016, 02:36 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 184
Problem w/GFI Outlet

I'm having trouble with my GFI Outlet under the center island kitchen reseting for no reason. It's parked on a semi permanent site and doesn't reset while we are there every weekend, but sometime during the week it's tripping for some reason. The only thing running on it during the week while we are gone, is the outside fridge in the outside kitchen.

Anyone else have this issue? Sometimes it will go for 2 weeks and not trip, other times just a few day? This is on a 2016 Eagle 325BHQS.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 02:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,228
Most likely the source of the troubles is the electric service coming in. Ours blew when a lighting hit close to us. Do you have electric protection on your incoming electric ? Over/under Surge protection?
__________________

__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 03:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Marcm157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 1,048
When you say "keeps resetting" do you mean tripping? A GFCI outlet needs power to it in order to reset. If you are trying to reset after a trip, make sure there is power on the line side of the outlet before you try to push the reset button.
__________________
_______________________________________________
2016 Ford F150 Scab - 3.5 Ecoboost HD Tow - Roadmaster Active Suspension - Equalizer 12K WD Hitch

2016 Jayco 28BHBE - Progressive Industries EMS-HW30C

Marcm157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 03:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 184
I do not. I am on my own pole and electric, not campground supplied. But I'm sure that doesn't matter per your question.

Not doubting you as you may have a good point, but don't see how it would start all of a sudden. Never had problems like that before?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 03:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,037
Replace it. Fixes the issue in most cases.
abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 04:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by abarkl View Post
Replace it. Fixes the issue in most cases.
The GFI? That was my first intention.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 04:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcm157 View Post
When you say "keeps resetting" do you mean tripping? A GFCI outlet needs power to it in order to reset. If you are trying to reset after a trip, make sure there is power on the line side of the outlet before you try to push the reset button.
Yes, I mean tripping.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 04:59 PM   #8
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 10,403
Mine was tripping in frequently a few years back. I just bought a new one and installed it. No more problems.

I now carry a spare.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 05:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
Mine was tripping in frequently a few years back. I just bought a new one and installed it. No more problems.

I now carry a spare.
That's probably going to be my first troubleshoot! Thanks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 07:22 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Buford
Posts: 4
My 2016 BHQS is doing the same exact thing. That's actually why I'm on the forum tonight. I just took it in for this reason (and the fridge was throwing an error code also). Service guys said they could not get it to duplicate. I am on my own pole with a hard wired surge guard installed.
__________________

StaMic006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.