Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2015, 09:43 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
tularockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chandler
Posts: 330
Trying to Get TV Audio on RV Stereo

I hope I'm not beating a dead subject here, but I'm trying to get the sound from the Furrion TV to come out on the our 5th Wheel speakers. In our previous trailer, all we needed to do was make a change to the TV audio option. But, I can't find such an option on the new TV.

I do see "audio out" output jacks behind the TV, so my next attempt is to connect a RCA cable from the TV to a connection behind the stereo. If anyone else has a different solution, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Keith
__________________

__________________
U.S. Air Force (1979 to 1994)
2016 Jayco 29.5BHDS
2015 Ram 2500 (w/Cummins Diesel)
Chandler, Arizona
tularockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 10:39 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Tyler
Posts: 49
I am also interested in achieving this! The sound on our TV is not very good at all. I would like to have it over the speakers as well.
__________________

RobinA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 11:01 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
robkelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Duxbury
Posts: 4,035
Believe you need to connect the TV and stereo with the RCA cable
__________________
Rob & Kelly, Bella & Brady (Miniature Schnauzers)
2016 Eagle 323LKTS
2017 RAM 3500 SRW CTD/AISIN CC LB
2015 White Hawk 29REKS Summit Edition (Traded)
robkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 11:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tularockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chandler
Posts: 330
Thanks, I will try that this weekend and report back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robkelly View Post
Believe you need to connect the TV and stereo with the RCA cable
__________________
U.S. Air Force (1979 to 1994)
2016 Jayco 29.5BHDS
2015 Ram 2500 (w/Cummins Diesel)
Chandler, Arizona
tularockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 11:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
TWP723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Abingdon
Posts: 3,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by robkelly View Post
Believe you need to connect the TV and stereo with the RCA cable

Correct! They need to be connected to one another.
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 328 RLTS
2013 Ford F350 6.7L 4x4 CCLB
W/Air Lift air bags (front & rear)
Equal-I-Zerô WDH
Me, Momma and Charles (RIP buddy)
And introducing Sofie!! ;)
TWP723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 11:26 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Midlothian, Tx.
Posts: 145
some stereos have a aux input on the front. then you have to select that input on the stereo menu
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 05:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Victoria
Posts: 67
If you have the typical Jayco with a Jenson stereo, then there should be extra female RCA connections on the back. The biggest problem on newer rigs is that newer flat panel TV's no longer have RCA audio out, they only have optical (digital) out. I added a LG Blu-Ray surround system that has an optical input on it to accomplish having TV sound out to speakers. If this is not an option, most satellite receivers have RCA audio outputs on them. If you only have over-the-air broadcast and your TV does not have RCA outputs, but has optical digital out, there is a converter to go from optical to RCA to accomplish your goal. Good Luck
__________________
2012 36REQS Pinnacle w/ Reese GooseBox
Stays at Lakehills, TX on Medina Lake most of the year!!
Chevy Silverado 3500 Duramax Dually
gaserv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 06:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,561
The option may need to be changed on the radio and not the tv. Change inputs to a or b if you have audio wires on back of tv to radio and see if one works.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 07:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Midlothian, Tx.
Posts: 145
my new flat screen led has a headphone jack (mini connector) and my sony stereo has a minijack on the front that's the aux input, select aux on the stereo and turn the volume on the tv low for the test
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 07:35 AM   #10
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 10,628
My older tv (RCA) had the 3 cables, L-R , and video. We thought we had a problem but found the video cable unplugged from the back of the Jenson unit.

It is a rats nest of cables.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.