Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2016, 10:51 AM   #11
TLG
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leetown
Posts: 35
Was looking at the one with the 5 inch screen. Camping world and Amazon have them for about 500.00. I'm afraid the 7 inch might be too distracting while driving
__________________

TLG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 11:37 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
tularockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Chandler
Posts: 330
Thanks. We're also looking at the Tadi Bros camera system as well. Our truck's dash is so huge that I don't think the 7-inch will be too large. We like the Tadi system as we can add side cameras into the same display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLG View Post
Was looking at the one with the 5 inch screen. Camping world and Amazon have them for about 500.00. I'm afraid the 7 inch might be too distracting while driving
__________________

__________________
U.S. Air Force (1979 to 1994)
2016 Jayco 29.5BHDS
2015 Ram 2500 (w/Cummins Diesel)
Chandler, Arizona
tularockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 12:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Oldsmar
Posts: 820
I have no switch but I know the camera is hot all the time since u can plus the head unit into the lighter socket in the bedroom and have a security camera
Rock
__________________
2016 Pinnacle 36 FBTS
2006 Dodge Ram 3500 4x4
SB SRW 5.9
Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 05:01 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock View Post
I have no switch but I know the camera is hot all the time since u can plus the head unit into the lighter socket in the bedroom and have a security camera
Rock
That's why the Jayco engineer said they put in the switch so you could have the option of staying hot all the time.
Seems to make sense for boondocking.
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 05:05 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,641
Can someone with the factory installed camera tell me how far below the roof the camera is mounted. I want to make sure I hit the blocking when I screw my camera in.
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 05:10 PM   #16
TLG
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leetown
Posts: 35
Well, I've went over this bad boy from end to end. There ain't "no stinking" switch in those compartments. The only sticker is the one beside the bedroom TV that says it is wired. I'm sure I saw the switch in the battery compartment of the FLSA that was parked beside mine on the lot, but I'm convinced I don't have it. Again, thanks for all the input.
TLG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 08:13 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Oldsmar
Posts: 820
klassic
If I ever get mine back I will let u know. I again requested the water and electrical diagrams. I will bet some units are wired right to a fuse an no switch. Look at the stereo u can remove power without pulling a fuse.
Rock
__________________
2016 Pinnacle 36 FBTS
2006 Dodge Ram 3500 4x4
SB SRW 5.9
Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 01:17 PM   #18
TLG
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Leetown
Posts: 35
Received an email from Jayco customer service today. He said they just received word today that there is no longer a switch being used in this system. The camera is always powered and the only way to shut the monitor off is to unplug it. Seems to me the best way to wire it is into the running light. At least it won't be drawing power constantly. Also, I was wondering if you couldn't just eliminate the middle running light and run the camera power wire through the same hole. Might need a different grommet, but it would save drilling a 3/4 inch hole in the rear cap.
TLG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 01:26 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,641
So your build date is 12/15 and mine was 07/15 neither have a switch.
They just put in a switch for a couple months?
What kind of business is that.

Ask them where you can find the other end of the wire so you can install your own 50 cent switch.
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 02:00 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Oldsmar
Posts: 820
klassic
When I get mine back I will start pulling fuses and see which is powering the camera and also the stereo. than switches go in
__________________

__________________
2016 Pinnacle 36 FBTS
2006 Dodge Ram 3500 4x4
SB SRW 5.9
Rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.