Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-18-2016, 01:40 PM   #1

2012QBW Towing Question

Hey Gang,

Total noob here but during the Dallas RV show this weekend i put a deposit down on a 212QBW. I am towing using a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee V6 gasser with a towing capacity of 6200 lbs.

The Trailer comes in at 4250 dry and i'll be adding some stuff to her like camping supplies, clothes etc. I figure that would add another 250 lbs. Of course there will be the batteries, propane and water. Throw in another 400 for that.

The JGC has a payload of 1270 lbs. When i figure in some gear, 2 1/2 people i get to about 700 lbs leaving me with about 550 in tongue weight.

I really dont know what i am talking about but i think that leaves me with about 5000 lbs in trailer? I dont want to push it too much but i love this trailer.

I have the option of getting the 195rb which would be an easier fit.

Any advice on whether i should get the 212QBW? Any owners out there with this trailer and my JGC? I'm a little nervous.

Cheers....

Shane
shane.kelly55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 03:58 PM   #2

I can't offer any advice specific to your TV but our first was an HTT that weighed about 4800# and was 600# on the tongue. Our TV had a max trailer weight of about 8500#. I expected our combined rig to be an excellent match. My surprise was that we were about 200# below the Rear GAWR, with an extra couple in the back seat I'm pretty sure we were over the rear axle max. Due to that I've become a bit OCD about weights.
I'd suggest a visit to a CAT Scale will give you an idea how much cargo (people, fuel, gear and tongue weight) you can add to the TV.
I can't say with any authority but I'd guess you may be over weight.
There is a sticky that details using the scales and interpreting the results.
The CAT Scale is your friend.

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS