Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-11-2016, 08:06 PM   #1

28BHBE in Texas

Good evening everyone! I am new to the travel trailering world and am looking into getting a 28BHBE. As for family, it is myself, my wife, and two children (1 and 7) in San Antonio, TX. The reason behind the purchase is for a job i got called up to go do in far West Texas between Pecos and Carlsbad, NM. For the most part it will be just me living in it, but wanted to buy something that is nice for when I'm done with this job and we can use it for camping/travelling. We are looking at a unit at Crestview RV in Selma. My tow rig is a 2012 GMC Sierra 2500HD CC Duramax 4x4 with MiniMaxx tuning and an 8" suspension lift on 37s.I am requested to be on site this Sunday, so this is a rather rushed entry into this style.

I have read quite a bit now on the forum and have narrowed down my questions to: Is the 28BHBE a good fit for the West and South Texas weather/sun? Are they any recommended hitches for my truck/trailer choice combo being that the truck is not the typical tow rig? Are there any options that stand out as being a "wish I had that" or a "well that's worthless"? What are the best ways to finance this type of purchase (told that they can get financing for 5% probably since we have good credit.) Would a fiberglass option be a better choice over the aluminum skin? Aside from the trailer, what accessories are a must have? Any sites or videos recommended for a newbie family like ours for an introduction and how to (also willing to take any info/reviews for sites/parks in the Carlsbad/Orla/Pecos area)?

Thank you all for any input and your time!
Boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 08:11 PM   #2

Have fun in Orla.
It ain't possible, by the way.
Stay in Carlsbad. (Dining)
Get on the road early, it jams up before sunrise.

Good luck.