Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-03-2014, 09:18 PM   #1

About to purchase new trailer

Hello folks. New member here hoping to ask a few questions. I have used a motorhome for years, but decided to investigate using a TT instead. I am a nature photographer, and I spend much of Spring through Fall in the RV. I am about to purchase a new Jay Flight Swift SLX 195RB Baja Edition. I will be towing with a Nissan pickup (V6) with a tow limit recommendation of 3500 lbs. Any insight to the following questions will be much appreciated.

1. Should I purchase a towing weight distribution system? The salesman said he probably would not, but he's pulled many trailers over the years. From generic info I've read online today, I think adding this would be wise. Opinions would be appreciated.

2. I'm getting a Yamaha 2000W generator with the trailer. I've been told that will be sufficient to run the 8000 BTU A/C. Is that correct?

3. My truck averages 22 mpg. What should I expect with the trailer added?

4. For those who use solar panels on a new trailer, were you comfortable drilling holes to do the install or did you use an alternate approach? Also, I was told that if I ultimately used multiple panels and a bank of batteries, I would be better off starting off with 6V instead of 12V batteries. As is, the trailer will come with two 12V batteries. Thoughts on battery choices?

5. I found it somewhat odd that this trailer came out after the 2014 Jay Flight Swift product brochures came out. For those familiar with this company over the years, does this seem odd?

6. For help both backing the truck up to the hitch and also backing the combo up, I was looking at the iBall backup camera system. The camera attaches magnetically, so I can move from the truck to the TT as needed. Is that a good idea or is there a better suggestion?