Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2013, 08:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Clovis Ca
Posts: 7
AC won't start

My 6 month old Jayco with a 13,500btu AC is causing me problems. AC runs fine on shore power but not with 3000 watt Honda generator. 1000 feet elevation and 90 degrees. Weird!!

Help? Is that normal? Shouldn't the generator start it?

pschultheis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 09:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millington
Posts: 173
My honda 3000 watt generator runs the 15K AC in my 28DSBH, but I try to limit how many lights and other power sources that I have turned on. I would think the generator would run your AC.

2014 Ford F-250 Lariat Crew Cab 4X4, 6.2L gasser, 3.73
2013 Jayco White Hawk 28DSBH

2012 Ford F-150 Lariat Supercrew 4X4, 3.5L Ecoboost, 3.73 (traded)
2005 Jayco 1207 (second PUP)
1976 Coleman Brandywine (first PUP)
katgar05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 09:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 453
My honda runs my ac no problem. I did end up installing a starting capacitor to help it out a bit at start up so that I could run the generator on eco mode and it wouldn't bog down so much when the ac kicked on.

Is it tripping your generator? What exactly is happening?
1998 Jayco Eagle 302FK (Honda EU3000is)
2016 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD 4x4 Duramax/Allison
2003 Honda Aquatrax F-12X Turbo
dmax_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 09:56 PM   #4
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Le Sueur, MN
Posts: 95
I ran our 13.5 A/C with a 2000 Honda for a few hours, wife wanted only the fan on but I slid the switch to A/C by accident. The unit ran fine but I wouldn't recommend it. So I don't know why yours wouldn't run off a 3000 watt.
highlife4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 10:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
xkuzme1's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 263
What does the generator do when you try to start the AC?
...she started talking about how I never listened to her or somethin, I donno, I wasn't really paying attention...
xkuzme1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:28 PM   #6
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Clovis Ca
Posts: 7
Generator bogs down, AC trys to start but kicks the 30amp breaker on Generator.
pschultheis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:14 AM   #7
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,375
Make sure all other big power draws are shut off [water heater, microwave, ] and minimize use of lights etc at least until the unit cycles on. Otherwise you should be good to go.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
Seann45's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 8,764
Have you shut down everything else? It sounds like you might have a water heater element on or some other high draw appliance.
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
140 days boondocking in 2016
211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 09:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
Mustang65's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 2,378
Trip all the breakers in the TT except fo the AC breaker. Then give it a try.
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album http://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 203
Our previous Jayco 321FKS Eagle had a 15K AC. I could not start it with our 3000 Kipor, I E-mailed Coleman tech help line and they recommended that I use a soft start capacitor. It cost me $17.00 for the capacitor and took 15 minutes to install. It worked like a charm and made me feel a whole lot better knowing that I was not overloading the geny or the AC when starting. We now have a 351 RLTS Eagle with a 15K AC unit that does not have a soft start capacitor and the 3000 Kipor starts it with out a problem. From my experience, there is a difference in starting difficulty between AC units of the same size and soft start capacitors can make a huge difference. Certainly cheaper than buying a larger generator.

hausknwa is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.