Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-01-2016, 09:41 PM   #1

Air Conditioner, Missed expectations

I'm a newb when it comes to trailer camping... this is the first few months with our 'new' setup.
We bought an x19h and the AC (I thought was 15000 btu from the option list on the Jayco website) ended up only being a 13500 btu unit.
Well... that is still plenty big right? Except it won't cool off the camper.
Not totally true... it will lower internal temps anywhere from 5-10 degrees depending on where you are taking the temp reading. It also blows out of the unit at around 45-50 degrees when the compressor is running. But it just doesn't get cold.
We were camping in the shade w/ an ambient air temp of 80 degrees and it would only get to around 76-78 in the camper (compressor would only run at my estimate of a 50% duty cycle) so it never got chilly inside. If I closed the pop-outs, I would earn another 2 or so degrees. We were parked in the woods, shaded all but a short period during the middle of the day.
I am taking the unit in to the dealer to have them look at it on the 8th, but I am half expecting them to say that it's blowing 45* air which is what it is supposed to be blowing and that is within the units specifications. Are there any other factors that should be considered or as long as the temp is in the 45-50 degree range, they are going to say that is satisfactory and leave it at that.
FYI we do not have a thermostat, the unit temp is set by using a sliding scale/knob and I have only used it at the coldest position.
Curt TruTrack WDH
(2) Wen 2K Inverter Generators
2014 Yamaha Super Tenere
Inglysh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 04:52 AM   #2