Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-13-2017, 01:27 PM   #1

Exclamation Air Conditioner tripping circuit breaker - help!

Hello, I'm new to this, so my apologies if I'm doing this incorrectly.
My 2016 jayco jayflight was working fine. Recently, the air conditioner keeps tripping the circuit, shutting everything down in trailer. I have had to reset it so many times that I can't use it anymore. I've replaced all the fuses (which weren't blown) and I don't have anything plugged in to overwhelm the trailer's electrical system. It seems the small cooling fan will work, then cease operation, then the circuit breaks. Any thought?
Bill3775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:37 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Is it kicking the 30 amp main in your TT?
The AC should be running off 120V, so replacing fuses wasn't necessary. Fuses are all 12V
I'd be pulling the cover off the AC and looking for any wires shorted.
Then I would be looking at an amp meter on the AC to see if it's drawing too many amps.
Then I would look at 30 amp main Breaker?

Cape Coral, Florida
2021 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2022 Jayco 240RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:55 PM   #3

Welcome to the forum.

Are you in a campground with many other trailers on a hot day? If so, it could be low campground or pedestal voltage.

Are all other 110v appliances off (water heater, fridge) in your trailer?

" It seems the small cooling fan will work, then cease operation, then the circuit breaks." Do you mean your air conditioner fan or another fan you have plugged in?
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:46 PM   #4

If its a 16 and still under warranty that's where I would be going.Don't need AC problems this time of year!
bdreinv is offline   Reply With Quote