Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-26-2013, 05:42 PM   #1
Wink Any Tips for first time towing a travel trailer

Hey everyone!! I will be picking up my very first TT on saturday and I was looking for some veteran advice from the pros on towing the TT. I have limited experience with towing anything. With all the great advice on my first thread I figured everyone could give me there own tips from just driving down the road to the dreaded backing up of a TT. Give me the goods please! LOL

Tbeuler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:01 PM   #2
Any Tips for first time towing a travel trailer

I'm by no means a towing master and only have about 3500 miles under my belt towing a tt, but here are a few thoughts.

- take turns wide . You can often watch in your mirrors to watch the curb side wheels and ensure clearance.
- allow plenty of distance in front of you to stop. It's going to be frustrating as people swoop in front of you on the freeway because you're leaving so much space, but you've got more weight to stop now.
- be aware your tt is likely wider than your tow vehicle so be sure not to cut it too close to objects on the side of the road.
- when backing I find the easiest way for me to remember which way to turn the wheel is to put your hand at the bottom of the steering wheel and move it in the direction you want the trailer to go. Move left to make the trailer go left etc.

Best advice is to just drive and practice. It won't be long till you start feeling comfortable. Good luck!

2012 Ford F150 FX4 5.0 3.73 SuperCrew Short Bed
2013 Jayco JayFlight 24FBS, Equal-i-zer 1k hitch
RightYouAreKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:13 PM   #3