Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2016, 08:58 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Plowtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamilton, MI
Posts: 424
Bad GFCI or Breaker?

So my folks are about a hundred miles away and are experiencing an issue I am trying to help resolve over the phone. They have a 2015 29RKS and yesterday had the coffee pot plugged into one outlet near the sink and an electric heater in the other outlet in the kitchen area. Now they have no power at those outlets, the fridge only works on gas and there is a led light on next to one of the fuses in the breaker box. Dad says that he checked all the fuses and breakers. He thinks they have a bad breaker (because it moves easy) but I think its a bad GFCI since they've tried to reset it (its located in the bathroom) a couple times. I have tested and reset it and remember really having to push the reset button in deep to get it to reset. Any ideas? We are heading up tomorrow afternoon, but Im not sure the battery will last that long to run all the 12 volt items as I suspect that the light next to the fuse indicates that the inverter is not working???
__________________

__________________
'97 Jayco Eagle 314BHS

'03 Tahoe LT 5.3L
Plowtoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:12 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 851
How about the breaker on the post feeding the RV?
__________________

__________________
Don
------------
2015 Greyhawk 29MV
Honda CRV toad with Blue Ox baseplate
Ready Brute Elite towbar with braking system
Hughes autoformer
TST 507 Flowthru TPMS
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Marcm157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 891
A GFCI outlet needs to be energized to be able to reset. If there is a breaker issue and no power to the outlet it will not reset. Have him recheck the breaker and then try resetting the GFCI outlet.

Also have him check all the GFCI outlets as one can be tripped in the bathroom or other location and it will not allow power to travel through to the other outlets on that circuit.
__________________
_______________________________________________
2016 Ford F150 Scab - 3.5 Ecoboost HD Tow - Roadmaster Active Suspension - Equalizer 12K WD Hitch

2016 Jayco 28BHBE - Progressive Industries EMS-HW30C

Marcm157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 4,265
Has he tried switching the breaker that 'moves easily' all the way off and then back on? Some (all?) tripped breakers need to be switched all the way off and then back on to reset them.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Steve (std Poodle) & Eydie (min Schnauzer)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights 2015, 90 nights 2016)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville
Posts: 388
Sounds to me like the breaker (not GFCI) has tripped and your dad is not moving the breaker hard toward "OFF" before resetting. Simply trying to move a tripped breaker handle from "TRIPPED" to "ON" will feel like the handle moves easy and will not actually reset the breaker. It has to manually be moved to "OFF" first.

I suppose the GFCI could also be tripped but as others have said, the breaker must be reset before the GFCI can be reset.

Plugging a coffee pot and an electric heater to the same circuit will certainly trip something.
Hohenwald48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 10:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
NVGun40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Eagle River, AK
Posts: 636
Usually the LED light on next to a fuse indicates a blown or bad fuse. A fuse can be blown or bad and still look like it is in good shape.
x2 on what has been said already. Recommend plugging in to shore power, turning off the breaker, replacing the fuse, resetting and turning on the breaker, THEN resetting the GFCI.
Also, make sure the refrigerator is off during this process as well. Finally, running an electric heater and a coffee pot (or even a blow dryer) at the same time is not something I would recommend. Those electric heaters (even the ceramic element ones) draw a lot of power. RV electrical circuits connect differently than in houses. So even when the GFCI is on a different breaker than a plug at the opposite end of the trailer, the whole electrical system can be overloaded.
Finally, if none of the above works, pull the circuit breaker/fuse panel and gain access to the converter and check for fuses in the converter and make sure they are ok.
__________________
2015 White Hawk 25BHS Glacier Package
2004 Dodge Ram 2500, 5.7 Hemi, 5Spd Manual
2008 Arctic Cat M1000 SnoPro
Previous: Northface tent/Komfort 5er/Jamboree MH
Lance Cabover/Prowler TT/WildernessTT/Tiltin Hiltin Cabover/Starcraft popup
NVGun40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 11:32 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: dayton
Posts: 17
Just went through this last weekend. Reset the Main Breaker on the Campsite Pole. Also replace the fuse with the red light on. Then reset the GFCI.
Baja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 12:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Plowtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamilton, MI
Posts: 424
Communication with them has been very difficult. Cell service for them is very spotty and texting is best, but it seems like they are very delayed. At last communication, they were heading into town to the local rv dealer to buy a breaker and gfci outlet and was going to replace them. Does anybody know if there is more than 1 gfci outlet in that camper? (2015 29rks). I know theres one in the bathroom, but it seems so far away from the others that are not working...
__________________
'97 Jayco Eagle 314BHS

'03 Tahoe LT 5.3L
Plowtoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 12:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,233
It really sounds like a breaker. Turn each off and turn them back on. The one with the red indicator is tripped. If it does not want to reset, usually there is a reason. If so, unplug everything that is connected to that circuit and try again. I would also look at the breaker on the shore power pedestal. Next check the GFI. They are really hard to push and rest. I commonly use a pen or pencil as my figures are to big to easily push the button in far enough to latch.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 01:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Plowtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamilton, MI
Posts: 424
They bought a breaker from the local RV dealer. Dad wants me to install it when I get there tomorrow which is fine. I have had them check the pedestal and it is good, all the plugs in the camper work except the bathroom, kitchen and I am guessing the rear most outside plug (it has two separate exterior outlets). Thanks for all the info, As soon as I know more I will pass it on.
__________________

__________________
'97 Jayco Eagle 314BHS

'03 Tahoe LT 5.3L
Plowtoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.