Jayco RV Owners Forum

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2016, 09:24 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Milwaukee Area
Posts: 5
Battery fuse needed?

Greetings: I bought a used 2015 24 RBS (and love it) Because we occasionally dry-camp I'm about to install two new 12v Optima deep-cycle batteries with a 4 position switch. Maybe i should have gone 6v but i already bought the batteries. Here's my question: currently my single battery has a 30 amp fuse spliced in line with wire nuts. Is it necessary to fuse the batteries since the distribution panel has a main fuse? The previous owner may have installed that fuse simply to be able to fully disconnect the battery. I'll be able to turn off either or both with the switch. I know to keep the breakaway switch "hot" full time. So....fuse or no fuse...that is the question. Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge.

FunSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 09:30 AM   #2
Senior Member
Jagiven's Avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,177
Always fuse! You are protecting your investment. Without a disconnect you can use the fuse as a disconnect (that's me).

The fuse will make sure you do not melt your wiring and start a fire if a short occurs before the power gets to the main fuse box.

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 10:18 AM   #3
Senior Member
RoyBraddy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,123
The purpose of the fuse just inches away from the Battery Terminals is to protect the cables etc between the battery and the accidental dead short to the Positive Battery Cable line coming from the Converter/Charger.

The batteries can produce a very big DC CURRENT when the cable gets shorted directly to ground along this line. This very high DC current can melt down the cables and may be a fire hazard.

Every trailer I have played with all have them. I guess it is a SAFETY DEVICE...

Some of the newer trailers have a AUOT RESET circuit breaker installed instead of the fuse...

When I added additional batteries and upgraded my converter/charger unit to a 60AMP DC model I had to to also replace the 30AMP DC In-line Fuse I had installed. My new fuse block went to an 130AMP SIZE but that was what I had left over from another project. I was wanting to put a 80AMP Fuse in place of the 30AMP.

If you only have the ONE 12VDC Battery installed the in-line 30A fuse will be ok. Most people will make the fuse rating the same as the DC output of the installed on-board converter/charger unit.

Roy Ken
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote

adding a battery, battery, main fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.