Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-12-2015, 08:41 AM   #1

Delivery/First Pull and set up

We took delivery of our 2015 Jay Flight 26BH yesterday. Tow vehicle is a 2015 Ford Explorer Sport with 3.5 TT EcoBoost and Tow package. We are using a Husky Round Bar WDH with the friction type sway controler, and P3 brake controller. Picked up at Lone Star RV in Houston, and drove about 20 miles north to Conroe.
It loaded nicely, and I was impressed with the power of my TV. About 5 miles in, I felt a few wiggles. I've never used a WDH or Sway controller before, and I've never pulled a TT, so I wasn't completely sure what to expect. Maybe I was just being hyper-sensitive, but I pulled off and tightened the sway bar a bit, and that seemed to help. I actually had to watch my speed to stay under 70mph. Once in town the sway bar popped and creaked a good bit. Oh, and I need some mirror BADLY..haha. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised at the job the little Explorer did with a trailer that size and I averaged about 11.5 mpg.
Questions:
1. Will running the sway bar a little tight damage anything, or just be noisy?
2. When setting up I leveled with the tongue jack fwd/back. But when I put any significant weight on the stabilizers, I lost weight on the tongue jack. Any recommendations?
3. I leveled using the sheet metal seems, and the frame. They were not completely the same and the fridge kinda split the difference. What point of reference do you guys use?
2011 Shelby GT500 (only thing it pulls is G's)
2003 Jeep Liberty Limited (DD's)
1995 F-150 short wheel base (Sold)
finally03gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 08:57 AM   #2