Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-27-2013, 12:34 PM   #1

How long will battery last dry camping?

Hi, I'm new to all this. Bought a little Jayco swift 2 months ago and am loving it.
We want to go to Joshua Tree next weekend - 3 nights. There are no hookups there.

It's cold at night- but we could run propane furnace-
I'm sure the kids will be buggin me to run the TV/charge they're iPads. The air-con won't be turned on
I doubt. Any info. I'm going to get a second battery, but there is some heavy mods to do moving first
battery/making space on the frame. I will look into a generator, even solar further down the road but any advice/ ballpark time-till-drain would be appreciated.

Thx in advance
doonkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 01:59 PM   #2
Site Team

Welcome to the Jayco Forum.
Based on what you posted, you will need at least 2 batteries and have to recharge your batteries each day, so that you do not discharge them to much. Propane furnace is nice, but the furnace uses a battery operated fan. Motors produce a LARGE drain on your battery(s). So, if you use your furnace, you will definitely need to charge the battery(s) each day. Not sure as to what type of TV you have (DC or 120VAC) old tube type or new LCD/LED type. The newer TV's can run for about 4 hours, depending on your battery Ah. If the lights in your TT are the regular 12 (car type bulbs) and not LED's they average about 1 amp per bulb, so they will use up your battery power fast. You will have to change them out with LED lights. As for a generator, that would be a good choice for you, but remember that most campgrounds only allow them to be running between certain hours (like 9am - 8-9Pm) and they can not be the normal noisy generators. There are a few camper friendly generators out there, Honda makes one of them.