Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-25-2014, 09:21 PM   #1

Maiden Voyage in the BIRD!

Hola everyone, we went on our first real camping trip this past week and it was so much fun I had to write about it and share some of our first experiences and hopefully get feedback on a couple of things.

First I am a complete newbie and all of my experience has been through reading this forum and watching the few videos. Second we just recently bought a 2014 264bh and we had been driveway camping the first part of the week.

I am glad we did because the first night it dropped down into the high 30’s and I turned on the furnace. Minutes later we had that new furnace burning smell throughout the trailer and then the smoke alarm went off. It scared the _____ out of my wife and it is a good thing we got that out of the way at the house.

The trip to the lake was uneventful and our site was an easy pull through so all was good. Setting up I discovered that the plastic water heater plug would not thread in. So I intentionally cross threaded it hoping that I would not damage the water heater drain threads and only the cheap plastic plug. It worked and I replaced it with a brass one today but could not find the type with a valve and a 3/8’s male end to attach a water supply line to for easy draining. Is this a specialty plumbing piece that is only available at an RV store? Home Depot did not have anything.

The second thing we had to battle was the city water connection. It leaked like crazy (on the site side of things) and ran under the trailer making the trailer entrance a wet and muddy experience. I only had a 25ft. hose and could not reach the water valve at the next site.