Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-26-2011, 10:37 AM   #1

New RVers Questions

My wife and I just bought a 2009 Jay Flight 26BH. We had been contemplating getting a pop up or smaller TT for some time now, but I have just been assigned a temporary job two hours away from home that will keep me there for at least a year. So, we figured that if I would have to pay for an apartment, we may as well put about the same amount of money in a TT and then we would have our camper paid for and ready to use when I return. I have zero experience with TTs and am in need of some guidance.
I am going to ask several questions in this one post and any help is greatly appreciated. I did not find a “New to RVing” thread and searching the forum was taking too long, so here goes….
The camper is in near mint condition. The inside is immaculate-even has that new RV smell. The outside has only one small ding on the upper front corner, presumably from a limb collision, that has been fully repaired. It was bought from a large (they claim the largest) Jayco dealer, and was fully inspected.
I will tow it with my 2002 Ford F150 Supercrew 4X4 5.4L with tow package. The trailer came with what seems to be a very heavy-duty weight distro. hitch and sway bar, though I can’t remember the make.
TOWING QUESTIONS:
1. Overdrive or no Overdrive?
2. Cruise control or no cruise control?