Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-07-2015, 06:22 PM   #1

Parasitic draw on battery

MRB 20 Manual says not to leave it plugged in all the time while in storage or batt may get overcharged. But after a couple weeks unplugged, batt goes dead. No, brakes aren't on. Nothing is on. Other than co alarm. I figure all parasitic draw should be maybe .5A, but it's 7.5A! Pulled fuses one by one and found the 30A fuse labelled "Charge line, slide motor" is the culprit. With that fuse pulled, the draw is only about .5A. I wouldn't think the slide motor would do it.Can anyone tell me why the charger would?
Dgrdale2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 06:56 PM   #2
Site Team

I have been leaving mine plugged in for 5 years now and it has never over charged the battery, which is original and the water is still full. These newer units are equipped with smart chargers that do not overcharge the battery. As for the parasitic draws, not sure about the usual amp draw numbers ( 7.5 amps is a lot, would that suggest a short?) but most owners report that after a week or two these draws will kill the battery if it is not disconnected. This has happened to me with this trailer and my previous one when forgetting to disconnect the battery if not connected to shore power.
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 07:08 PM   #3

well I know the radio light in ours stays on .. I don't know how much it takes but if mine is sitting my battery is disconnected
Old 03-08-2015, 06:25 AM   #4

The electronics inside the converter/charger, it keeps track of the battery whether using shore power or not. There is probably a relay or diode set inside.
Old 03-08-2015, 07:24 AM   #5

I left my antenna booster once once and in a few weeks the battery was dead. Now I disconnect the negative post on the battery when I put it in storage.