Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-08-2017, 12:47 PM   #1

Re-Leveling my Bungalow

I'm very new to the RV world so bear with my question.

Not sure it matters what model as the rules may be the same for all trailers. I have a 2010 40Ft Bungalow on a year round site that we recently purchased. It has been on this same site for approx. 6 years. I noticed when we looked at it the tires on one side are low. I also noticed the front scissor stabilizer jacks as well as the tongue jack, the concrete blocks and wood they sit on have sunken into the ground a bit and are tilted. The trailer is on ground, not a pad.

Ideally, I'd like to inflate the tires (and check the other side) to near proper pressure. then somehow lift the tongue and front scissor jacks one at a time to reset the blocks (lay down a limestone base and level the blocks) then lower the jacks on the new "foundations".

Is there any issue with this plan? Is there an order I should do these in? Any precautions like bring in the slides prior? Have another 5-10 ton jack available? Wheel-chocks?

The rear scissor jacks are in good shape and are solid. I realize I may need to raise/lower them as well to get the trailer back to level.

Looking forward to any/all feedback.

Thanks in advance
cainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 01:03 PM   #2

If you are leaving it on a permanent site you should get a couple more jacks and remove the wheels. As long as weight is on the wheels you will never be stable

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
6 Speed Manual
farnik78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 01:41 PM   #3

After this long, the tires may be bad and no longer hold air. Another reason to remove the wheels.
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 09:15 AM   #4