Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-10-2017, 08:25 PM   #1

Recommend generator for Jay Flight 32BHDS with 15k ac/2nd ac with 50AMP

Looking at
https://m.costco.com/Champion-7000W-Running--9000W-Peak-DUAL-FUEL-Generator-wElectric-Start.product.100220385.html

Will this suffice? Overkill? Under?
Sscheitel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 06:52 AM   #2

Generators are a big and broad topic here. But lots of great advice. There are some really experts, and they are helpful.

I'm not an expert, but have been looking in to a generator for a similar application. Here is .02 you can take for what it's worth.

74 decibels is on the loud side if you are in a camp ground with other people. In the RV world, running generators when camping can be a sensitive issue. My experience, is people try not to run them. Obviously cost is important but quiet should be a requirement too.

It does not look like this is an inverter generator.

I didn't see how much it weighs.

I've been looking at Honda's. There is a reason they are so expensive. Look at the EU7000i and the related threads here.
2 x Golden Retrievers
dangerdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 07:07 AM   #3

The Honda and Yamaha generators are the gold standard. Reliable and expensive.

Champion is a contractor grade generator. Less Expensive and has a 3 year guarantee.

When comparing generators look at the specs: Noise DB ratings, Clean power THD, weight -cause you will have to load and unload that darn thing. Propane produces less power than gas but, could be nice for home back up.

Craigslist for Long Island has a bunch of listing for Honda Generators https://longisland.craigslist.org/se...leDuplicates=1

If I was buying used, I'd want to hear it run first and when I got it home, the oil and filter(s) would be serviced/changed.