Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-13-2010, 03:43 PM   #1

Refrigerator

Hello Everyone,

I am new at camping and at this forum.
I have just recently bought a 2005 Jay Flight 27BH and love it.
Got a good deal on it and it is a lot of fun. We have taken it out camping about 4-5 times now. We keep it in an RV storage.

The day before I go camping, i go to the storage place and hook up the battery (put a new battery and always unhook it when not in use). I also turn on the refrigerator. The solid light indicates it is working properly. I wait around 30 min before i leave.
However, the next morning, the refrigerator is not cool and the light is blinking. It works fine when i go to a campsite and hook it up to an outlet. The only thing i can think of is the battery, it is probably not lasting all night long to power the refrigerator.
I just bought a $25 battery maintainer/charger and will see if that makes a difference.

Anyone has any ideas?

I am sorry if this sounds a bit off or redundant... i would appreciate any input.
Duran1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 04:00 PM   #2

First off, did you purchase a deep cycle RV/Marine battery? Secondly, did you turn the propane bottles on? Is the unit sitting somewhat level in storage?

I know these sound like silly questions but they are a good starting point.
cciparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 04:25 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cciparts View Post
First off, did you purchase a deep cycle RV/Marine battery? Secondly, did you turn the propane bottles on? Is the unit sitting somewhat level in storage?

I know these sound like silly questions but they are a good starting point.
Hi Cciparts and thanks for your reply.