Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-01-2016, 08:31 PM   #1

Roadmaster Active Suspension

I noticed on a few posts that some have installed the Roadmaster Active Suspension system on their TV. I've looked at a number of youtube videos and reviews. They all look great, easy to install, etc. Question - do they really make a difference worth the $? I'm new to towing something this large (30', 6,000+lb trailer) so don't know good vs bad but will take all the help I can get for stability going down the freeway.
suzhou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 08:56 PM   #2

I was very happy with the RAS purchase.

Not sure what your towing with, but when I had my F150 SCREW, and my 29BHDS (7300LBS+) it made a noticeable difference in the ride of the TV when towing. It also improved the driving of the TV when not towing, I noticed when taking 280 degree cloverleafs etc on the interstate much different, could take them faster and feel safe. It cornered much better.

The install was very easy, probably 60-90 minutes if you have a floor jack and some jack stands. The only disassembly on my truck was taking the tires off, everything else fit over all existing suspension/bolts so nothing else was taken loose.

One other thing, if you don't have LT rated tires but passenger tires (start with a P for size I believe), air up your tires when you are towing to near their maximum PSI, I noticed a much better ride when I did this.

(PS, this is the 3rd post I have mentioned RAS on this evening, I am starting to feel like a commercial, but I was very happy with it. If it was compatible with my new truck I would have ordered instantly)

ProPride 3P

jsallman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2016, 09:01 PM   #3