Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-25-2013, 04:49 PM   #1

Solar wiring on Jay Flight 198RD

Hey Gang,

I am a newbie to all of this and .a hard core, dyed in the wool, gadgeholic. I am waiting for my solar charging kit to arrive and have pulled all the panels and crawled all over our new (lovingly used) 198RD I believe I will be running the solar panel wiring down the refrigerator vent, but unfortunately the wires will be on the wrong side of the trailer. I could run them under the trailer and up into the void below the oven for connection. Does anyone have any experience running solar battery charging system in this model? I have ordered the schematics from Jayco, but am insatiable for knowledge on this subject. There is a ton of experience in this group I hope to draw on and then contribute to.

Regards,

John & Jodie

'05 Chevy Tahoe
2011 198RD
jhartline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:52 PM   #2

In what way will the wires be on the wrong side of your trailer? Do you plan to attach them directly to the battery? I have a wire chase across the ceiling of my x20e that I have fished wire through. Starts at the fridge and crosses to the stereo.

2016 Jayco x213
2012 Toyota Tundra
Mainenebula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 07:37 AM   #3

Hi Dan,

the refrigerator is on the opposite side of the trailer as the converter panel. I'm pretty sure I'm going to leave the solar panel unmounted so I can position it in the sun if the trailer is shaded. That should solve my routing problem as I will now run the wires directly to the new charging unit mounted in the pass through.

thanks for your response.

John
Old 06-06-2013, 09:46 PM   #4

solar wiring