Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-01-2016, 07:44 PM   #1

Tire/Bearing maintenance frequency, advice

So We have a long trip coming up in a few weeks, around 4600 miles towed over 3.5 weeks.

My 2016 29BHDS was new last July, and has including the tow from the factory around 3600 miles on it currently from last season and early this season.

Would you recommend tire rotation and having the bearings checked before the long trip, or is that overkill and we should be fine until after? I have heard dealers say they should be checked after 3000 miles, which seems excessive to me but I am far from an expert in this area. What is usually involved in inspecting the bearings, do you just get the wheel free and check for rough rotation or literally pull off the drum, expose the bearings, repack them, etc.

I would think more like 10000 would be more reasonable on bearings and 5000 or so on tires (which we will exceed with this trip).

ProPride 3P

jsallman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 06:23 AM   #2

With a trip that long coming up, and have never looked at them, I would get the bearings packed. You never know if the factory missed one, or gave one a light packing.

David & Sandy Hinkle
2014 X23B
2007 Honda Ridgeline Traded
2016 F150 Max Tow, Tow mirrors
dhinkle57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 06:26 AM   #3
Site Team

I would have them inspected after the first year just as a precaution. Then go from there.

Involves pulling the hub and doing a physical inspection of the brakes, hubs, bearings and seals.
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Companion Std hitch
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 07:27 AM   #4